Christian Fellowship at
Travelers

 
 
Greetings,
I have always been drawn to the person of John the Baptist – just one of those things. 
In the Gospel of Matthew Chapter 3 verses 3 & 4 (RSV) say, “(v3) For this is he who was spoken of by the prophet Isaiah when he said, ‘The voice of one crying in the wilderness: Prepare the way of the Lord, make his paths straight.’  (v4) Now John wore a garment of camel’s hair, and a leather girdle around his waist; and his food was locusts and wild honey.”

This call is still sounding to all of us!  “Prepare the way of the Lord, make his paths straight!”

Regarding the man, John – he was fierce in his pronouncements, and he was rugged in his life style.  He wore a garment of camel’s hair, and he ate locusts and wild honey.  He decreased while Jesus increased, and his ministry was for a season!

I don’t know about you, but I enjoy my nice flannel shirt with a warm (and soft synthetic) fleece over-shirt and a nice clean pair of jeans – I imagine camel’s hair to be somewhat course.  As touching food, a nice cool diet Pepsi (or Coke) with a sandwich and chips vs. locusts and wild honey???  Did you ever wonder how he got the wild honey?  My guess is that he either found some very clever way to lure all the bees away from the hive (like maybe some regular sugary coke on a rock next to the nest) – or he very slowly just reached into the nest with his bare hands and scooped up some honey?  The former he didn’t have – the latter would have required nerves of steel or a whole lot of faith – which I think he had in spades.  As for me, I like mine out of a jar (if there are any honey bees left this year).

John lived in the wilderness – Jesus only spent some time there.  It says of Jesus, after his baptism (in Matthew) that he was led by the Spirit into the wilderness.  But the Gospel of Mark says he was DRIVEN by the Spirit into the wilderness.

I too am receiving a call to the wilderness – I don’t know how long it will last, but I believe it will be long enough that I am turning the coordination of CFL over to James and announcing that I am laying aside the writing of the weekly reminders.  Serving the Lord through these notes has been a great source of fulfillment for me, but the season is drawing to a close at this time.  While I still plan to attend as I am able, I bid you farewell from this role for now.

Lord, grant us all the wisdom strength and power to prepare paths that make a way for you in our lives!

Sincerely,
Dale



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Dale Petersen.  I love life, photography, art, music, and pizza.  I enjoy writing poetry, and I love to contemplate.  I like to encourage people in their faith journeys, and I am told that my writing has helped some friends and I have been encouraged to blog.

    Archives

    March 2010

    Categories

    All
    Dec 2008
    Feb 2010
    Jan 2009
    July 2009
    June 2009
    March 2010

    RSS Feed