Christian Fellowship at
Travelers

 
 
After reading it in a newsletter a couple of months ago, the phrase ‘a flash of the obvious’ is one I’ve recently begun to use a lot when I figure out the answer to what I thought was a difficult problem only to realize that the solution was staring me in the face the whole time.
Or I use it to describe the times where I think I have some profound deep insight only to be told by another – “you didn’t know that already, I thought everyone knew that.”

I was recently taking some time to thank God for some prayers he had answered (an important activity I do not do frequently enough) and the thought popped into my head “wasn’t it obvious to you that God would answer these prayers!?!? Sure he may not answer them the way we want or expect, but has he really ever not come through for you in the end?” Oh, If only I had faith the size of a mustard seed (Mt 17:20) - to trust that our Heavenly Father, who takes care of the birds of the air and the lilies of the field (Mt 6:26-30), would take care me and the ones I love!   May our expectant faith grow so that when God answers our prayer and we think, “Wow! God answered our prayers”; such thoughts are ‘flashes of the obvious’ to us.

 -James Miller



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Dale Petersen.  I love life, photography, art, music, and pizza.  I enjoy writing poetry, and I love to contemplate.  I like to encourage people in their faith journeys, and I am told that my writing has helped some friends and I have been encouraged to blog.

    Archives

    March 2010

    Categories

    All
    Dec 2008
    Feb 2010
    Jan 2009
    July 2009
    June 2009
    March 2010

    RSS Feed