Christian Fellowship at
Travelers

 
 
This morning I am reconsidering David’s words (Psalm 27 – especially verse 4) .
These words resonate through my soul, because they represent the keys to happiness, joy, peace and prosperity.  While for most Bible verses, I enjoy the NIV (New International Version) translation:

 4 One thing I ask of the LORD,
       this is what I seek:
       that I may dwell in the house of the LORD
       all the days of my life,
       to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD
       and to seek him in his temple.


I honestly think on this verse though, I prefer the KJV (King James Version) [formatting mine]:

 4One thing have I desired of the LORD, 
       that will I seek after; 
       that I may dwell in the house of the LORD 
       all the days of my life, 
       to behold the beauty of the LORD, 
       and to enquire in his temple.

It is my goal and desire that this verse become the CORNERSTONE of every phase of my life – but truth be told, I am not there yet by a long shot!  Probably if you were to write the first part of this verse describing my life today, it would sound something like this:

   “Of the 7 or 8 dozen (or is that 11 or 12 dozen) things I crave every day 
          and most likely only mention to the LORD when I don’t get my way…”

I will reserve additional discussion, and my reasons for preferring the KJV for later comments. What do you think?  Do you like one better than the other?  How would this verse read if it were written about your life?

In the not to distant future, I hope to set up a blog with the ability to host public dialogue on these verses.  At that time, Lord willing, all who so desire will be able to join me in a 21 day pursuit of the BEAUTY OF THE LORD!

Please stay tuned – more to follow.  Please pray for me and all who would join us in this endeavor – that God would crown our discussion with HIS FAVOR and that we would all be enriched in the process!

God bless you all!

Dale



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Dale Petersen.  I love life, photography, art, music, and pizza.  I enjoy writing poetry, and I love to contemplate.  I like to encourage people in their faith journeys, and I am told that my writing has helped some friends and I have been encouraged to blog.

    Archives

    March 2010

    Categories

    All
    Dec 2008
    Feb 2010
    Jan 2009
    July 2009
    June 2009
    March 2010

    RSS Feed